Join us for teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche and meditation sessions led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen!

This year during our online Summer Institute, Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche will be teaching daily on Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle by Rongzom. Also, Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen will be leading meditation sessions each day! (During Sessions 1 and 2: July 10 – July 28)

 

Teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle: Dzogchen as the Culmination of the Mahayana by Rongzom

Dzogchen Ponlop RinpocheRongzom is an 11th century Tibetan scholar of the Nyingma tradition. In this amazing and profound work, he shows readers how Dzogchen is in line with a wide variety of the sutra and tantric teachings that are espoused by all Tibetan schools.

Rongzom provides both a linguistic and philosophical analysis. Among other topics, he explains the difference between illusion, mirage, dream, reflection, and emanation. And the English translation provides the Tibetan and Sanskrit terms, which is helpful to developing a deeper understanding and to learning how to distinguish the meanings on a more subtle level.

He begins with this overview of the reality of afflictions according to the various schools:

Entering The Way Great VehicleIf numerous afflictions were able to be eliminated through a single path, then meditation upon a variety of path would be rendered pointless. If a single affliction were able to be eliminated by means of numerous paths, then the Buddha’s teachings of a variety of afflictions would also be rendered pointless. If it were the case that various paths could not weaken afflictions even a little, many paths would also not eliminate them. If they did, it would not be the case that afflictions pertain to a single entity. If that were so, there would be no decisive reckoning of entities in regard to affliction. Thus, according to the Shravaka system, there is no real entity given in connection with Affliction. (p. 41 Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle)

Using the kinds of philosophic and linguistic analyses favored by the new schools, he demonstrates that the Great Perfection is indeed the culmination and maturation of the Mahāyāna, the Great Vehicle. The central topic of the work is the notion of illusory appearance, for when one realizes deeply that all appearances are illusory, one realizes also that all appearances are in that respect equal.

Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche will teach on this text at Nitartha’s 2020 Summer Institute, which will be held online! Rinpoche’s class will be live streamed daily from July 10 to July 28, 9:30am -11am PDT (6:30-8pm CEST, 12:30-2am CST) (no class on July 19th).

An amazing opportunity to delve into the depths of this text!

The text can be ordered as an e-book from online sources such as Amazon. Hard copies can also be purchased from the Nitartha bookstore (bookstore@nitarthainstitute.org).

Mahamudra Shamatha with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen

Acharya Lama Tenpa GyaltsenMahamudra Shamatha
In the afternoons, Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen will lead Mahamudra Shamatha sessions. These are only open to students who have previously received Mahamudra Shamatha instructions from a qualified teacher and have practice experience.

Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen will lead these sessions daily during sessions 1 and 2, from 2-3:30pm Pacific time (11pm-12:30am CEST, 5-6:30am CST)

Prerequisites for this session are having:

  • taken at least one Mahamudra Shamatha session through Nitartha, or
  • completed the Nalandabodhi Mahamudra Shamatha curriculum, or
  • attended retreats where Mahamudra Shamatha was taught by a qualified teacher and practiced by the retreatants.

Am I eligible? Click here to verify your eligibility (required).

Community Meditation Sessions

Start your morning with meditation led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen! These meditation sessions are open to all students who are registered for the Summer Institute.

They will be held every morning during sessions 1 and 2, from 8-9am Pacific time (5-6pm CEST, 11pm-12am CST).

Register now for the 2020 Summer Institute!


Interested in the afternoon Mahamudra Shamatha session?
Verify your eligibility here before registering.