SCHEDULE

Session 1

July 1–9

  • Samdhinirmocana Sutra and Mahamudra teachings by
    Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche
  • Meditation
    with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
  • Three levels of study courses
  • Tibetan language courses
  • Befriending Space
    with Mitra Lee Worley
  • Lujong

Session 2

July 11–19

Continuation of

all courses

from Session 1

Session 3

July 21–29

Continuation of:

  • Shedra courses
  • Tibetan language courses
  • Community Meditation

If you have any questions, please contact us by email at info@nitarthainstitute.org.

The 2022 Summer Institute will offer:

  • Teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche: Samdhinirmocana Sutra and Mahamudra every other day (9 talks each during Sessions 1 and 2)
  • Daily community meditation sessions open to all students, led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (27 days over all 3 sessions)
  • Mahamudra shamatha and vipashyana led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (9 days each on alternating days during Sessions 1 and 2)
  • One shedra (study) level (27 teachings over all 3 sessions, regardless of whether you register for one session only or two sessions)
  • Tibetan language courses: Two levels of colloquial Tibetan (13 days each on alternating days over 3 sessions) and literary Tibetan (27 days each over 3 sessions)
  • Befriending Space led by Mitra Lee Worley (during sessions 1 and 2)
  • Lujong (during sessions 1 and 2)
  • Recordings of the courses for which you are registered will be available for a limited time.

Draft Schedule for Sessions 1 & 2

Note: PDT = Pacific Daylight Time, CEST = Central European Summer Time, CST = China Standard Time

Period Time Course
1a 4:30 – 5:50 am PDT
1:30 – 2:50 pm CEST
7:30 pm – 8:50 pm CST
Reading Tibetan Buddhist Literature (intermediate course) (Note: there will be an orientation from 5 – 6am Pacific time on July 1st. This course will start on July 2nd.)
1b 5:15–5:45 am PDT
2:15–2:45 pm CEST
8:15 pm–8:45 pm CST
Lujong (body-mind exercises) (Note: there will be an orientation from 5 – 6am Pacific time on July 1st. This course will start on July 2nd.)
2 6:00–7:30 am PDT
3:00–4:30 pm CEST
9 pm–10:30 pm CST
Samdhinirmocana Sutra taught by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche (every other day)
30 minutes Break
3 8 am – 9:15 am PDT
5 pm – 6:15 pm CEST
11 pm-12:15 am CST
Community Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (open to all)
15 minutes Break
4

9:30 am – 11:00 am PDT
6:30 pm – 8:00 pm CEST
12:30 am – 2:00 am CST

Three levels of shedra (study) classes taught by Nitartha faculty:
Level 1: Mind and Its World I and II
Level 2: Madhyamaka
Level 3: Buddha Nature and Mind-Only and Yogacara: same or different?
1 hour Break
5

12:00 – 12:45 pm PDT
9:00 – 9:45 pm CEST
3:00 – 3:45 am CST

Befriending Space with Lee Worley (Session 1 daily, Session 2 every other day)
15 minutes Break
6

1:00 – 2:30 pm PDT
10:00 – 11:30 pm CEST
4:00 am – 5:30 am CST

Mahamudra Shamatha and Mahamudra Vipashyana (on alternating days) with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen. Prerequisites apply. Click here to check your eligibility (required).

30 minutes

Break
7

3:00 pm – 4:00 pm PDT
12:00 am – 1:00 am CEST
6:00 am – 7:00 am CST

Shedra discussion groups, vary by course (optional)

30 minutes

Break
8

4:30 pm – 6:00 pm PDT
1:30 am – 3:00 am CEST
7:30 am – 9:00 am CST

Introduction to Tibetan Buddhist Literature (beginning course)

1 hour

Break
9 6pm – 7pm/7:30pm PDT
3am- 4am/4:30am CEST
9am – 10am/10:30am CST
Beginning and Intermediate Colloquial Tibetan (beginning and intermediate will be held on alternating days and will be 60 and 90 minutes long on alternating days)
10

7 pm – aprox, 8 pm PDT
4 am – aprox 5 am CEST
10 am – aprox 11 am CST

Teachings on Mahamudra by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche (every other day)

Period 1

5:15 am – 5:45 am PDT
2:15 pm – 2:45 pm CEST
8:15 pm – 8:45 pm CST

Lüjong

Period 2

every other day starting July 1
6:00 am – 7:30 am PT
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm CEST
9:00 pm – 10:30 pm CST

Sandhinirmochana Sutra
Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

BREAK

15 minutes

Period 3

7:45 am – 9:00 am PT
4:45 pm – 6:00 pm CEST
10:45 pm-12:00 am

Community Meditation
Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen

BREAK

90 minutes

Period 4

9:30 am – 11:00 pm PT
6:30 pm – 8:00 pm CEST
12:30 am – 2:00 am

Three levels of shedra (study) classes

BREAK

1 hour

Period 5

12:00 – 1:00 pm PT
9:00 pm – 10:00 pm CEST
3:00 am – 4:00 am CST

Befriending Space with Mitra Lee Worley
(Session 1 daily, Session 2 every other day)

BREAK

1 hour

Period 6

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm PT
10:00 pm – 11:30 pm CEST
4:00 am – 5:30 am CST

Mahamudra Shamatha and Vipashyana practice (on alternating days)
with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen

Prerequisites apply.
Click here to apply for Mahamudra shamatha.
Click here to apply for Mahamudra Vipashyana

BREAK

1 hour

Period 7

3:00 pm – 4:00 pm PT
12:00 am – 1:00 am CEST (+1 day)
6:00 am – 7:00 am CST (+1 day)

Discussion groups, vary by course (optional)

BREAK

1 hour

Period 6

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm PT
10:00 pm – 11:30 pm CEST
4:00 am – 5:30 am CST

Mahamudra Shamatha and Vipashyana practice (on alternating days)
with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen

Prerequisites apply.
Click here to apply for Mahamudra shamatha.
Click here to apply for Mahamudra Vipashyana

BREAK

1 hour

Period 7

3:00 pm – 4:00 pm PT
12:00 am – 1:00 am CEST (+1 day)
6:00 am – 7:00 am CST (+1 day)

Discussion groups, vary by course (optional)

Registered students will be notified of any changes to the schedule.

Session 3

Session 3 is a continuation of shedra courses, Tibetan language courses and community meditation.