Nitartha Summer Institute 2021 is online!

Session 1: July 2–10, 2021

Session 2: July 12–20, 2021

Session 3: July 22–30, 2021

Registration closes June 11, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact us by email info@nitarthainstitute.org or call us at  (+1) 312-636-9112.

Tuition Includes

  • Daily teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche (18 talks over 2 sessions)
  • Daily meditation sessions open to all students led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (27 days over 3 sessions)
  • Mahamudra Shamatha led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen for qualified students (18 days over 2 sessions)
  • One shedra (study) level (up to 27 teachings)
  • Elective Tibetan languages courses: Colloquial & Intermediate Tibetan (27 days over 3 sessions)
  • Recordings of courses in which you are registered, to view at a time that is convenient for you!

Payment plans and financial assistance may be available. Click here to apply.


Refund policy: In case of cancellation, a full refund will be given by the registration deadline of June 11, 2021. A processing fee of $75 will be charged for cancellations between June 11 and July 1. No refunds will be possible on or after July 1, 2021.

Academic credit: Please note that tuition is $500 for students who are seeking academic credit from their educational institutions.

Daily Schedules

Sessions 1 & 2

Note: PT = Pacific Time, CEST = Central European Summer Time, CST = China Standard Time

Schedule for Sessions 1 & 2

Period Time Course
1 6:30–7:50 am PT
3:30–4:50 pm CEST
9:30 pm–10:50 pm CST
Reading Tibetan Buddhist Literature (Intermediate Tibetan)
{no class on Day 1}
2 8:00–9:15 am PT
5:00–6:15 pm CEST
11:00 pm–12:15 am CST
Community Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
{Nitartha Summer Institute Orientation on Day 1}
15 minutes Break
3 9:30–11:00 am PT
6:30–8:00 pm CEST
12:30–2:00 am CST (+1 day)
Sandhinirmocana Sutra taught by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche
90 minutes Break
4

12:30–2:00 pm PT
9:30–11:00 pm CEST
3:30–5:00 am CST (+1 day)

Four levels of shedra (study) classes taught by Nitartha faculty:
Level 1: Mind and Its World I & II
Level 2: Mind and Its World III & IV
Level 3: Madhyamaka
Level 4: Cittamātra and Buddha Nature
1 hour Break
5

3:00–4:30 pm PT
12:00–1:30 am CEST
6:00–7:30am CST (+1 day)

Mahamudra Shamatha practice led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen:
Prerequisites are required. Please click here to verify your eligibility.
1 hour Break
6

5:30–6:30 pm PT
2:30–3:30 am CEST (+1 day)
8:30–9:30 am CST (+1 day)

Discussion groups – days vary depending on course (optional)
7

7:00–8:30 pm PT
4:00–5:30 am CEST (+1 day)
10:00–11:30 am CST (+1 day)

Colloquial Tibetan (beginning and intermediate on alternating days, starting on Day 1)

Period 1

6:30–7:50 am PT
3:30–4:50 pm CEST
9:30 pm–10:50 pm CST

Reading Tibetan Buddhist Literature (Intermediate Tibetan)
{no class on Day 1}

Period 2

8:00–9:15 am PT
5:00–6:15 pm CEST
11:00 pm–12:15 am CST

Community Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
{Nitartha Summer Institute orientation on Day 1}

BREAK

15 minutes

Period 3

9:30–11:00 am PT
6:30–8:00 pm CEST
12:30–2:00 am CST (+1 day)

Sandhinirmocana Sutra taught by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche

BREAK

90 minutes

Period 4

12:30–2:00 pm PT
9:30–11:00 pm CEST
3:30–5:00 am CST (+1 day)

Four levels of shedra (study) classes

BREAK

1 hour

Period 5

3:00–4:30 pm PT
12:00–1:30 am CEST
6:00–7:30am CST (+1 day)

Mahamudra Shamatha practice led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
Prerequisites are required. Please click here to verify your eligibility.

BREAK

1 hour

Period 6

5:30–6:30 pm PT
2:30–3:30 am CEST (+1 day)
8:30–9:30 am CST (+1 day)

Discussion Groups – days vary depending on course (optional)

Period 7

7:00–8:30 pm PT
4:00–5:30 am CEST (+1 day)
10:00–11:30 am CST (+1 day)

Colloquial Tibetan (beginning and intermediate on alternating days, starting on Day 1)

Students will be notified of any changes to the schedule.

Session 3

Session 3 is a continuation of shedra classes (levels 1, 2, and 4), Tibetan language classes, and Community Meditation.

Please note that Summer Institute registration closed on June 11th, and we are preparing for the opening of the program. If you would like to attend, please click here to fill out the registration form and we will attempt to process your registration before the program begins.