The 2021 SUMMER INSTITUTE ONLINE

Session 1: July 2 – 10, 2021

Session 2: July 12 – 20, 2021

Session 3: July 22  – 30, 2021

Registration will open March 15, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact us by email info@nitarthainstitute.org or call us at  (+1) 312-636-9112.

COSTS AND DETAILS

Dates Session Tuition
July 2 – 10

Session 1
Courses begin:
Sandhinirmochana Sutra (Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche)
Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
Four levels of shedra (study) courses

$250
July 12 – 20 Session 2
Continuation of all courses from session 1:
Sandhinirmochana Sutra (Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche)
Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
Four levels of shedra (study) courses
$450
Sessions 1 & 2
July 22 – 30 Session 3
Continuation of shedra levels 1, 2, and 4 and community meditation
No additional cost

Included in tuition:

  • Daily teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche (18 talks over two sessions)
  • Daily meditation sessions open to all students led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (27 days over three sessions)
  • Mahamudra Shamatha led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen for qualified students (18 days over two sessions)
  • One shedra (study) level (up to 27 teachings)
  • Recordings of courses in which you are registered, to view at a time that is convenient for you!

Payment plans and financial assistance are available (click here to apply)

Refund policy: In case of cancellation, a full refund will be given by the registration deadline of June 11, 2021. A processing fee of $75 will be charged for cancellations between June 11 and July 1. No refunds will be possible on or after July 1, 2021.

Academic credit: Please note that tuition is $500 for students who are seeking academic credit from their educational institutions.

DAILY SCHEDULES

(Times are subject to change.)

DAY 1: FRIDAY, JULY 2, 2020

This day is scheduled to begin at 9am with orientation, followed by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche’s teaching on the Sandhinirmochana Sutra at 9:30 am. The remaining periods will be the same as the other days of the Summer Institute, as shown below.

SESSION 1 DAYS 2 – 9 (JULY 3 – 10) AND SESSION 2 (JULY 12 – 20)

Period Time (CST=China Standard Time) Courses
1 8:00-9am Pacific, 5:00-6pm CEST, 11:00-12am CST Community Meditation with Acharya Lama Tenpa Gylatsen
2 9:30-11am Pacific, 6:30-8pm CEST, 12:30-2am CST Sandhinirmochana Sutra taught by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche.
11am-12pm Pacific, 8-9pm CEST, 2-3am CST Break
3

12- 1:30pm Pacific, 9-10:30pm CEST, 3-4:30am CST

Four levels of shedra (study classes) taught by Nitartha faculty:
Level 1: Mind and Its World I&II
Level 2: Mind and Its World III&IV
Level 3: Madhyamaka
Level 4: Cittamātra and Buddha Nature
4

2:30-4:00pm Pacific, 11:30pm-1:00am CEST, 5:30-7:00am CST

Mahamudra Shamatha practice led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen:
Prerequisites are required. Please click here to verify your eligibility.
5

5-6pm Pacific,  2:00am – 3:00am CEST, 8:00am – 9:00am CST

Discussion groups – days vary depending on course (optional)
Times to be determined. Introduction to Colloquial Tibetan and Reading Tibetan Buddhist Literature will also be offered.

SESSION 3

Continuation of shedra levels 1, 2, and 4 and community meditation

“While I was attending classes, I was simply trying to keep up with the rigors of comprehending the dharma concepts and nomenclature. The first two Mind and Its World courses provide an excellent foundation for practitioners of Tibetan Buddhism, and really helped to clarify many ideas that I struggled with through the Nalandabodhi Hinayana study curriculum. Nitartha fleshes out and illuminates the material in those courses in a way that I found immensely helpful.”

“Now, looking back, I get the sense that the mandala of Nitartha was working its magic on me all along, strengthening my confidence and allowing me to become more discerning – to be less reactive and more compassionate, caring and loving. Thank  you Nitartha!

Doug E.

Initially I attended Nitartha in 2011 as a Naropa student and have subsequently attended in 2012, 2014 and 2016 in the Tibetan Language program. I find it very inspiring to study and practice in a container that was truly focused in the study of the buddhadharma and be surrounded by such esteemed teachers. Going into Tibetan texts in-depth and practicing my spoken Tibetan with Nitartha’s language instructors has been an excellent asset to developing my skill as a translator and practitioner. I very much enjoyed studying in this way complementary to receiving daily teachings and guidance from Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche and Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen.

Celco W

I have found Nitartha to be an amazing and unique experience.  If you are at all attracted to the philosophy of Tibetan and early Nikaya Buddhism, this is for you.  I’ve attended the 4 Mind and its World foundation courses and the Chittamatra or “mind-only” class.  Nitartha has added a crucial dimension to my practice and clarified and re-positioned my understanding of dharma gained from other contexts.  The material is engaging and the teachers are passionate and welcoming.  I’ve been able to take a local 9-day intensive course in Vancouver, online and self-paced courses, and attended the 2016 Summer Institute.  There is something available for whatever style fits your budget and learning style. Each method has been beneficial for me.

Overall, the material is truly a new lens on how to view your experience and thus what you take to be yourself.  I don’t know that I would have been able to gain this perspective or understanding any other way. I highly recommend Nitartha to friends and fellow dharma practitioners.

David P.