The 2020 SUMMER INSTITUTE ONLINE

Registration is now closed.  Self-Paced Online Courses are available throughout the year. As well as semester courses in real-time in the fall and spring. For more information about semester courses, sign up for our mailing list.

Ordering texts: Please allow plenty of time for ordering your texts: approximately 4 weeks for orders outside the United States, 1 week for orders in the United States. (For students in Europe, texts will be shipped from within Europe.)

  • To purchase shedra (study) course texts, contact Nitartha’s bookstore at bookstore@nitarthainstitute.org. 
  • Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle: Dzogchen as the Culmination of the Mahayana, by Rongzom Chökyi Zangpo can be found as an e-book through online sources, including Amazon.  Hard copies can also be purchased through the Nitartha bookstore at bookstore@nitarthainstitute.org.
  • For a complete list of texts and prices, click here.

Session 1: July 10 – 18, 2020

Session 2: July 20 – 28, 2020

Session 3: July 30  – Aug 07, 2020

If you have any questions, please contact us by email info@nitarthainstitute.org or call us at  (+1) 312-636-9112.

SCHEDULE FOR DAY 1: FRIDAY, JULY 10, 2020

This day will begin at 9am with orientation, followed by Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle at 9:30 am. The remaining periods (periods 4 through 6) will be the same as the other days of the Summer Institute, as shown below.

Period Time Courses
(Visit our course listing page for details)
1 6:30-7:50am Pacific, 3:30pm-5:50pm CEST, 9pm-10:50pm CST Intermediate Literary Tibetan
2 8-9am Pacific, 5-6pm CEST, 11pm-12am CST Community Meditation led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
3 9:30-11am Pacific, 6:30-8pm CEST, 12:30-2am CST Entering the Way of the Great Vehicle taught by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche.
11am-12pm Pacific, 8-9pm CEST, 2-3am CST Break
4

12- 1:30pm Pacific, 9-10:30pm CEST, 3-4:30am CST

Three levels of shedra (study classes) taught by Nitartha faculty:
Level 1: Mind and Its World
Level 2: Madhyamaka
Level 3: Cittamātra and Buddha Nature
5

5-6:30pm Pacific, 2am-3:30am CEST, 8-9:30am CST

Mahamudra Shamatha practice led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen:
Prerequisites are required. Please click here to verify your eligibility.
6

7-8:30pm Pacific, 4am-5:30am CEST, 10-11:30am CST

Introduction to Colloquial Tibetan

Session 3: Continuation of shedra level 1 (Mind and Its World) and level 3 (Chittamatra & Buddha Nature)

COSTS AND DETAILS

Dates Session Tuition
July 10 – 18

Session 1 only
Courses begin:
Entering the way of the Great Vehicle (Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche)
Meditation Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
Three levels of shedra (study) courses

$250
July 20 – 28 Session 2
Continuation of all courses from session 1:
Entering the way of the Great Vehicle (Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche)
Meditation Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen
Three levels of shedra (study) courses
$450
Sessions 1 & 2
July 30 – August 7 Session 3
Continuation of Level 1 and Level 3 shedra (study) courses only
No additional cost

Included in tuition:

  • Daily teachings by Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche (18 talks over two sessions)
  • Daily meditation sessions open to all students led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen (18 days over two sessions)
  • Mahamudra Shamatha led by Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen for qualified students (18 days over two sessions)
  • One shedra (study) level (up to 27 teachings)
  • Recordings of courses in which you are registered, to view at a time that is convenient for you (see course details for availability dates)!

Payment plans and financial assistance are available (click here to apply)
Nobody will be turned away because of cost.

Refund policy: In case of cancellation, a full refund will be given by the registration deadline of July 1, 2020. A processing fee of $75 will be charged for cancellations between July 2 and July 9th. No refunds will be possible on or after July 10th, 2020.

Academic credit: Please note that tuition is $500 for students who are seeking academic credit from their educational institutions.

Registration is now closed.  Self-Paced Online Courses are available throughout the year. As well as semester courses in real-time in the fall and spring. For more information about semester courses, sign up for our mailing list.

“While I was attending classes, I was simply trying to keep up with the rigors of comprehending the dharma concepts and nomenclature. The first two Mind and Its World courses provide an excellent foundation for practitioners of Tibetan Buddhism, and really helped to clarify many ideas that I struggled with through the Nalandabodhi Hinayana study curriculum. Nitartha fleshes out and illuminates the material in those courses in a way that I found immensely helpful.”

“Now, looking back, I get the sense that the mandala of Nitartha was working its magic on me all along, strengthening my confidence and allowing me to become more discerning – to be less reactive and more compassionate, caring and loving. Thank  you Nitartha!

Doug E.

Initially I attended Nitartha in 2011 as a Naropa student and have subsequently attended in 2012, 2014 and 2016 in the Tibetan Language program. I find it very inspiring to study and practice in a container that was truly focused in the study of the buddhadharma and be surrounded by such esteemed teachers. Going into Tibetan texts in-depth and practicing my spoken Tibetan with Nitartha’s language instructors has been an excellent asset to developing my skill as a translator and practitioner. I very much enjoyed studying in this way complementary to receiving daily teachings and guidance from Dzogchen Ponlop Rinpoche and Acharya Lama Tenpa Gyaltsen.

Celco W

I have found Nitartha to be an amazing and unique experience.  If you are at all attracted to the philosophy of Tibetan and early Nikaya Buddhism, this is for you.  I’ve attended the 4 Mind and its World foundation courses and the Chittamatra or “mind-only” class.  Nitartha has added a crucial dimension to my practice and clarified and re-positioned my understanding of dharma gained from other contexts.  The material is engaging and the teachers are passionate and welcoming.  I’ve been able to take a local 9-day intensive course in Vancouver, online and self-paced courses, and attended the 2016 Summer Institute.  There is something available for whatever style fits your budget and learning style. Each method has been beneficial for me.

Overall, the material is truly a new lens on how to view your experience and thus what you take to be yourself.  I don’t know that I would have been able to gain this perspective or understanding any other way. I highly recommend Nitartha to friends and fellow dharma practitioners.

David P.